Skip to content

3.1.16 The United Nations Adoption of Indigenous Peoples Rights

On September 30, 2007 the United Nations General Assembly adopted the “Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples.” There were 144 states or countries that voted in fair. Four voted against it while 11 countries/states abstained. Those four that voted against it were the United States, Canada, Australia, and New Zealand. Their main reason for voting against it was because they felt as if it “goes too far.” The importance of this Declaration is that the Indigenous Peoples have the chance to have their rights recognized. Some of their rights include rights to self-determination, traditional lands and territories, traditional languages and customs, natural resources and sacred sites. Many would simply view these as basic human rights.