Skip to content

1.7 Southeastern United States, Colloquially Referred to as the Southeast

This is the eastern portion of the Southern United States. It is one of the most populous regions in the United States of America.

There isn’t an official set of states that make up the Southeastern United States. However it is generally agreed that the region comprises Florida, Georgia, Arkansas, North Carolina, Alabama, Louisiana, Mississippi, Virginia, Tennessee, Kentucky, South Carolina, and West Virginia . The Association of American Geographers defines the southeastern United States as Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia.

With over 18 million people, Florida is the most populous of the states. It is followed by Georgia, with approximately 10 million residents, and then North Carolina with over 9 million people.

Jacksonville, Charlotte, and Memphis are the largest cities in the region by city-proper population, however, Miami, Atlanta, Orlando, and Tampa are the most populous metropolitan areas in the region.